top of page

OUMEIMA EL KHALIL

OUMEIMA PHOTO 2.jpg

Oumeima el Khalil is an established Lebanese singer who interprets her culture and passion for music to a worldwide audience. She has a voice that has been touching her diverse fan base for decades and she continues to thrive in the music industry today.

Oumeima was born in a small Beqaa village called Al Fakiha and was driven to perform from the moment she could speak. Indeed, Oumeima el Khalil was born to sing. Surrounded by an artistic and supportive family, Oumeima began her quest to sing at the young age of 7.

Her father had heard of a recently graduated musician called Marcel Khalifeh and Oumeima was introduced to him as a potential student. When she sang for him in his home, he was so impressed by her talent that he would later return to the Beqaa valley in search of this young prodigy.

  

Oumeima-photo.jpg

Shortly after their meeting, civil war broke out in Lebanon and the landscape of the music industry was altered. Marcel Khalifeh left for France to pursue his career and Oumeima continued her secondary studies in the Beqaa, never giving up her dream of being a singer. In 1979, Khalifeh would return to Beirut as a famed musician and quickly hires 12-year-old Oumeima to perform a solo with his band “Al Mayadin”. Singing for the first time in front of a sold-out crowd at the renowned UNESCO Palace Theater in Beirut, this 12-year-old girl astounded the music industry with her talent and professionalism. In 1981, as a teenager, she was signed on to Khalifeh’s US tour where she performed solos in 16 different states. She has been a staple in the fabric of Arab Culture and a worldwide performer ever since.

Oumeima continues to collaborate with Marcel Khalife on several of his albums and began her solo career in 1994 with the breakthrough record, “Khallini Ghanneelak”. Her songs are written by renowned Arab poets such as Mahmoud Darwish, Badr Chaker El Sayyab, Mohamad El Abdallah.

  

bottom of page

top of page

OUMEIMA EL KHALIL

OUMEIMA PHOTO 2.jpg

Oumeima El Khalil porte le Liban à travers sa passion pour la musique. Sa voix touche ses admirateurs du monde entier depuis des décennies et continue de prospérer dans l’industrie musicale actuelle. 

  

Née dans un petit village de la Beqaa appelé Al Fakiha, Oumeima el Khalil performe sur scène dès son plus jeune âge.  

  

Entourée d’une famille d’artistes, Oumeima s’est sentie soutenue dès ses 7 ans, lorsqu’elle commença à prendre sa discipline au sérieux. Son père qui entendit parler d’un jeune musicien diplômé du nom de Marcel Khalifeh, voulut que sa fille devienne une de ses disciples. Oumeima chanta pour Marcel et impressionna le musicien par son timbre unique. 

  

Oumeima-photo.jpg

En 1979, Marcel Khalifeh qui vit en France et désormais artiste de renommée internationale, revient à Beyrouth où il retrouve Oumeima alors âgée de 12 ans. Pour lui, elle chantera un solo dans son groupe « Al Mayadin ». Pour la première fois, Oumeima performe devant une salle comble au Théâtre de l’UNESCO à Beyrouth. La jeune fille éblouit le public par son talent et son professionnalisme. En 1981,  encore adolescente, Oumeima rejoint la tournée américaine de Marcel Khalifeh où elle chante en solo dans pas moins de 16 états. Cette étape marque un tournant dans sa carrière et fera d’elle une artiste incontournable du monde arabe à travers le monde. 

  

Après plusieurs collaborations avec Marcel Khalifeh sur de nombreux disques, Oumeima El Khalil se lance dans une carrière solo en 1994 avec l’album  « Khallini Ghanneelak ». Ses chansons sont issus des textes de poètes arabes de renoms comme Mahmoud Darwish, Badr Chaker El Sayyab ou encore Mohamad El Abdallah. 

  

bottom of page